The Family of Heroes

Since this is my first post, I thought that I should give a little introduction into my “Bat Cave.” The first thing you need to know is that super heroes are real. Well, sort of. We are here, all around you, but it may not be in the way you necessarily expected.

Batman is in my blood. My father, my Batman, has been a hero in the armed forces for almost 30 years. He is still active, and still fighting. This made me, from the point when I was very young, his little Batgirl. I have adopted this persona so much that I even have the emblem on my skin to prove it. While my dad is trying to save the world in true military fashion, I took a different approach, learning all I can and eventually finding myself at this point in my life, trying to make a difference as a teacher in an elementary school.

As I got older, I found that the real heroes never left me. I recently married a Hero of my own. I found myself a Hal Jordan (Really! He’s a pilot and everything!), more commonly known as the Green Lantern. He is also serving in the armed forces, trying to keep us all safe. This blog was really inspired by him. Green Lantern is heading out on deployment in practically no time at all, and I wanted to have this as a record of our life through this, and hopefully after too. This is the life of a hero; it sometimes means giving up and being separated from the thing you love most for the greater good of everyone else.

So you may be wondering… Why is this so important to me? Because superheroes aren’t just about awesome powers or defeating villains. It’s about being brave and not letting fear rule your life. It’s about overcoming obstacles and making the hard choices. It’s about believing in yourself. It’s about trying to put others first. It’s about getting up and pushing forward, even when all you want to is go back to bed. It’s about doing good, even if you have to do it in small ways.

BG

Leave a Reply

