Dream a Little Dream of Me

August 19, 2011. One year ago today there was a marriage that combined the hearts of two super heroes. I am, of course, talking about Green Lantern and I. We joined forces and promised to love, honor, cherish, and save the world every single day of our lives. At least… I think that last part was in our vows…

Now, I won’t spend this blog going into laboriously detailed descriptions of what happened that day. I would be here for days, trying to recall everything from what was the very joyous but kind of blurred memory I have. Instead, I want to highlight some of the moments that meant so much to me.

When I think of my wedding day, the first image that pops into my head is the first time I saw Green Lantern. How sappy and romantic right? But I remember my mother Phoenix and Lantern’s sister, (Insert Name Here as soon as she gets back to me about her alter ego 😉 haha) had just finished putting the finishing touches on my dress. I asked for them to bring my hero to  me, and when they left the room, and I knew that right behind that door was the man I would spend the rest of my life with, I’ll admit I got a nervous. In fact, I will go so far as to say I felt like I couldn’t breathe. He opened the door, came into my dressing room, and shut the door behind me, and looked at me. I like to think that I knocked him speechless, but since Green Lantern is a man of few words when it comes to expressing emotion, I can’t know that for sure. Though when he told me that I was beautiful, and touched me in that soft gentle way that I had learned to both expect and love from him, every butterfly melted away. I can honestly say that I didn’t have a single doubt about what I was about to do. I knew Green Lantern was the perfect fit.

Fast Forward to the ceremony. I will always remember the way I felt when I walked through the french doors at the back of my venue with Batman (a special moment for me just alone) hearing the chords of a song that meant a lot to me, and catching sight of him standing there in front of everyone. It’s worth mentioning how handsome Green Lantern is in uniform just normally, but that dress uniform, that hat, that sword…. I quite literally could look at nothing else. Proof landed in the ceremony while I was looking at him and completely blanked on the words the minster had just told me to say to him. Guess he distracted me. In the end I got the words out, and kissing him right there in front of an entire league of the other heroes in our lives was life changing.

You might have picked up from earlier posts that I have an intense and passionate love for dance. If you haven’t, well, you should go back and read some of my other posts. 🙂 The idea behind that is to lead you to the next important section for me: Our First Dance. If you know me, you know that I have a complete and absolute fear of the Total Protonic Reversal of my body if I dance like I’m at a middle school dance. Meaning…. I might literally explode if I sway in a circle. I have being doing latin, swing, and ballroom so long that if feels unnatural for me to dance that way. Green Lantern had the good sense to realize this, and allowed me to give a very short and sweet dance lesson. The result was probably one of the best 3 Minutes and Ten Seconds in my life: a triple rhythm swing to “Dream a Little Dream of Me” by Michael Buble. I, to this day, can’t thank my hero enough for doing this for me. It was beautiful, it was perfect, it was everything in the world I ever wanted. The thing is, I really, truly mean that with all my heart. I don’t think he could ever really understand how combining my love for him and my love for dance in this wonderful mesh of sweet, romantic movements, with just enough sass to look like me. This is the memory I always look back on with the most fond memories.

I remember thinking that night when we got back to the hotel after it was all over, how I wished it could have lasted longer. I didn’t want the day to end. But looking at my Green Lantern, standing there in that room as he took off his hat and sword, I knew it would never really leave me. The wedding might be over, but this crazy, amazing, fantastic adventure was really just beginning. The world was at our feet, and I was ready to conquer it as long as he was there beside me.

Green Lantern:

On this, the day of our Very First Anniversary, I would give anything for us to actually be together. This is a big deal… we have made it through the first year on our journey together. And you know what? I wouldn’t trade a single day, or change a single thing. I want nothing more in the world then to be with you, in this marriage with you, for as long as I live.

The time has flown by so quickly. I often wonder as I look back how it could have passed so fast. Wasn’t it just yesterday? Those words we spoke to each other still ring and hold true, and give me the strength to keep going, and keep standing here, waiting for you to come home. Every day is one step closer.

You know how much I love you; I don’t know how to describe it other than unconditional and unyielding. I would give anything for you. However, after a year, I have learned that I adore you so much more now then I ever could have the day we married. I need you in my life, and I believe in you with every fiber in my body.

Happy Anniversary, my darling hero, and I hope that we get to spend many more of them together.

Always,

BG

Leave a Reply

