Giving Thanks

Hello All,

I know that my absence has been long, but I promise, my Asian inspired blog is currently in the works. R&R was amazing, and that is all you need to know until then. 🙂

Today, however, I want to take on a different topic. And that is the idea of Giving Thanks.

Let me start with this statement: I hate thanksgiving. With a passion that has been fueled through my childhood. Don’t get me wrong, the fact that we celebrate the idea of being thankful for what you have been given in your life is a beautiful thing. However, the idea that the entire holiday is based around the consumption of a HUGE meal is just kind of ridiculous for someone like me. Why? Because I hate the food. Seriously. Turkey? Don’t eat it. Stuffing and Mashed Potatoes and Gravy? Nope, not a chance. Cranberry sauce? Green Bean Casserole or the like? Pumpkin Pie? Apple Pie? Pecan Pie? SOME kind of Pie? Not even kind of.

When I was young, my mother Phoenix started making a variation of Homemade Mac and Cheese, and this became my turkey to the Thanksgiving meal. (Thanks mom, for giving me some tradition 🙂 ) So for as long as I can remember it was this, fruit salad, and fresh hot rolls with butter and jelly to sustain me while everyone else went for the super traditional meal. Honestly, I get more out of the football games then I do the mountain of food that we will continue to eat for the next three weeks following.

When Green Lantern was home last year, we went all out to make a meal that worked for both of us. We chose Ham over turkey, because Green Lantern was kind enough to spare me the burden of trying to actually figure out how to cook one of those infuriating birds. He made some fried potato concoction that he assures me is the best in the whole world. Then we made Green Bean bundles wrapped in Bacon and topped with Onions and Mushrooms, Salad, Fresh Rolls, and of course, my traditional Mac and Cheese.

At the approach of the holiday this year, Green Lantern started expressing concern. He asked me what I was planning on doing. I replied with “nothing.” He pressed on. Aren’t you going to cook anything special? Go be with friends? Go to the base and eat the big thanksgiving meal that they prepare? I continued to tell him no.

So here we sit, Thanksgiving morning. Judging purely off of my stomach right now, I feel like I might make a cheesy garlic bread and some pasta today. Sounds good. I’m gonna put something on the tv, probably a season of Psych that I can run all day without paying a whole lot of attention. I’ll do laundry. I’ll maybe work on some art. I’ll take care of my fur babies, and spend the day alone and secluded.  A most ordinary day, and a most unusual thanksgiving.

However, the fact that I can do all of this is a reason to be thankful. I have food in my house that I can make. I have a plethora of movies or seasons to choose from to break the silence. I have clothes to wear, and a roof over my head. I have a passion for art, and the undying love of our animals to keep me company. And you know what? I am thankful for all of it.

Of course, the major players in my blessed life aren’t here: Green Lantern, Batman and Phoenix, my brother Ironman and his sweet Pepper Potts, and so many others that I can’t even count, but I feel blessed that I get to have them in my life at all in the first place. I wish that I could see them, and spend the holiday with them, but I really am ok with being here alone. I am in a beautiful and fantastic country with opportunities to travel the world. I have the love of the greatest man I have ever known (besides Batman 🙂 ). I have a wonderful and supportive family. This life I have been given is sometimes difficult and confusing and frustrating and unpredictable, but it is also beautiful and passionate and amazing. So this season, I am thankful for everyone and everything I have been given, and I can’t wait to see what the future holds in this alluring and lovely thing we call life.

Best wishes to you and yours. I hope your Thanksgiving holiday is filled with happiness and laughter, and that good blessings stay with you all year long.

BG

Leave a Reply

